Earthquake Lamp – A connected lamp that reacts in real time to earthquakes

2018-01-12 // art design featured popular

The Earthquake Lamp is a connected lamp that reacts in real time to earthquakes around the world. After the Political Lamp, the cloud lamp that reacts to the tweets from Donald Trump, this new creation by Parse/Error explores the connection between the human and the planet Earth, as a tangible interaction, and crystallizes our fear and our fascination for the power of nature.

Behind its appearance of a beautiful object, with a clean and simple design, the Earthquake Lamp unveils its true nature when it responds in real time to earthquakes from around the world with light pulses and a disturbing rumble. A hidden face that immediately changes the observer’s behavior, between anxiety and fascination, but also invites him to contemplate the reality and beauty of a living planet, constantly in motion.

This creation is inspired among others by the great earthquake of Tohoku, in Japan in 2011, while I was living in Tokyo during this tragic event. Linked to the data from IRIS (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology), the Earthquake Lamp reproduces earthquakes worldwide with a delay of only a few minutes.

The Earthquake Lamp is a new personal project created under the name Parse/Error, the identity behind which I create my experiments between art, design and technology. I also invite you to follow my work on Instagram and Behance, and you will find all my projects on my portfolio.

Images © Parse/Error

The latest post

Earthquake Lamp – La lampe connectée qui réagit en temps réel aux tremblements de terre

La Earthquake Lamp est une lampe connectée réagissant en temps réel aux tremblements de terre du monde entier. Après la Political Lamp, la lampe nuage qui réagit aux tweets de Donald Trump, cette nouvelle création de Parse/Error explore la connexion entre l’humain et la planète Terre, comme une interaction tangible, et cristallise notre peur et notre fascination face à la puissance de la nature.

Derrière son apparence de bel objet, au design sobre et épuré, la Earthquake Lamp dévoile sa véritable nature lorsqu’elle réagit en temps réel aux tremblements de terre du monde entier avec des pulsations lumineuses et un grondement inquiétant. Une face cachée qui modifie immédiatement le regard de l’observateur, entre angoisse et fascination, mais qui l’invite également à contempler la réalité et la beauté d’une planète vivante, sans cesse en mouvement.

Cette création est inspirée notamment par le grand tremblement de terre de Tohoku, au Japon en 2011, alors que je vivais à Tokyo lors de cet événement tragique. Reliée aux données de IRIS (Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology), la Earthquake Lamp retransmet les tremblements de terre du monde entier avec seulement quelques minutes de décalage.

La Earthquake Lamp est un nouveau projet personnel réalisé sous l’identité Parse/Error, dédiée à mes expérimentations entre art, design et technologie. Je vous invite également à suivre mon travail sur Instagram et Behance, et vous trouverez tous mes projets sur mon portfolio.

Images © Parse/Error

Les derniers articles