Life Clock – This clock displays the number of seconds since your birth

2017-10-25 // art design popular

Life Clock is a clock displaying the number of seconds since your birth. It also displays a life bar inspired by video games, based on the average life expectancy in France! Thought like a celebration of life, showing that every moment that passes is one more second where you are alive, this object also suggests a countdown to death. A double facet that puts many people uncomfortable…

With a simple change of time scale, the Life Clock invites its user to become aware of the time that passes, but especially to take advantage of the present moment. A reflection on our ability to perceive time, and on our relationship to birth and death.

After the Political Lamp, triggering a storm for every tweet from Donald Trump, the Life Clock is a new project by Parse/Error, the identity behind which I create my experiments between art, design and technology. I also invite you to follow my work on Instagramand Behance, and you will find all my projects on my portfolio.

The latest post

Life Clock – Cette horloge affiche le nombre de secondes écoulées depuis votre naissance

25/10/2017 // art design populaire

La Life Clock est une horloge affichant le nombre de secondes écoulées depuis votre naissance. Elle affiche aussi une barre de vie inspirée des jeux vidéo, basée sur l’espérance de vie moyenne en France ! Pensé comme une célébration de la vie, montrant que chaque instant qui passe est une seconde de plus où vous vivez, cet objet suggère également un compte à rebours vers la mort. Une double facette qui met de nombreuses personnes mal à l’aise…

Avec un simple changement d’échelle de temps, la Life Clock invite ainsi son utilisateur à prendre conscience du temps qui passe, mais surtout à profiter du moment présent. Une réflexion sur notre capacité à percevoir le temps, et sur notre rapport à la naissance et à la mort.

Après la Political Lamp, réagissant en temps réel aux tweets de Donald Trump,  la Life Clock est un nouveau projet de Parse/Error, l’identité derrière laquelle je réalise mes expérimentations entre art, design et technologie. Je vous invite également à suivre mon travail sur Instagram et Behance, et vous trouverez tous mes projets sur mon portfolio !

Les derniers articles