The world’s first floating city will be launched in 2020 in the Pacific Ocean!

The first floating city in the world, designed by the Seasteading Institute, will begin its construction in 2020 in the Pacific Ocean! This non-profit organization, based in San Francisco, has been working on this massive project since 2008, but has just reached an agreement with the government of French Polynesia to launch a life-sized test, to then make evolve its structure until 2040.

This huge floating city, the first of its kind, will be a start-up country, whose goal is to free humanity from politicians and rewrite the rules that govern society. Some ideas that look a lot like Rapture, the underwater city of the BioShock video game! Apparently, the architects and engineers of the Seasteading Institute have already visited the future location of the floating city, where a dozen structures will include houses, hotels, offices or restaurants.

This utopian and eco-friendly floating city is expected to cost $167 million to build, and will be partly funded through the creation of its own cryptocurrency. A fascinating project at the limits of science fiction!

Images © Seasteading Institute

The latest post

La première ville flottante du monde sera lancée en 2020 dans l’océan Pacifique !

La première ville flottante du monde, imaginée par l’organisation Seasteading Institute, débutera sa construction en 2020 dans l’océan Pacifique ! Cette organisation à but non lucratif, basée à San Francisco, travaille sur ce projet démesuré depuis 2008, mais vient de trouver un accord avec le gouvernement de la Polynésie française pour lancer un test grandeur nature, pour faire ensuite évoluer sa structure jusqu’en 2040.

Cette immense ville flottante, la première en son genre, sera un véritable pays start-up, dont le but est de libérer l’humanité des politiciens et de réécrire les règles qui gouvernent la société. Des idées qui rappellent forcément Rapture, la cité sous-marine du jeu vidéo BioShock ! Apparemment, les architectes et les ingénieurs du Seasteading Institute ont déjà visité le futur lieu où sera implantée la ville flottante, dont la douzaine de structures comprendra maisons, hôtels, bureaux ou restaurants.

Cette ville flottante utopique et eco-friendly devrait coûter 167 millions de dollars à la construction, et sera en partie financée grâce la création de sa propre crypto-monnaie. Un projet fascinant aux limites de la science-fiction !

Images © Seasteading Institute

Les derniers articles