Travel diary: Discovering Dublin and Ireland!

2014-01-06 // voyage

For the New Year’s Eve, we had the honor of being invited by Ireland to celebrate the last days of “The Gathering Ireland 2013“, an initiative conceived to promote tourism in Ireland, but also to celebrate Irish culture and heritage worldwide. With over 5000 events throughout the year 2013, The Gathering Ireland 2013 ended with The Ultimate Gathering, a special New Year celebration in Dublin! An excellent opportunity for us to discover Ireland and especially Dublin city! Here is a brief summary of these days in the land of leprechauns… (also do not miss: Dublin Street Art – Selection of street art in the streets of Dublin)

dublin-ufunk-1

This little adventure in Dublin already allowed us to discover many aspects of Ireland, but also to discover a city like “The Bernard Shaw” bar, very steeped into traditional Irish culture and customs, but also a modern, dynamic, trendy city, with a real modern and alternative culture.

dublin-ufunk-2

Of course when you think of Ireland, you directly think to St Patrick, beer, and thus to Pubs. Our first pub in Dublin has been the “O’Neill’s“, a bar / restaurant with a warm and charming atmosphere, with several rooms on two floors, a pretty dark and heavy decoration and a dart championship on screens… No doubt, we are in Ireland!

dublin-ufunk-6

dublin-ufunk-7

We had a room at the beautiful “Brooks Hotel“, in the city center. The opportunity to meet for the first time a “Pillow Menu“, a menu of the different types of pillow available, to choose the one that suits us best!

dublin-ufunk-8

And who says night in Ireland, says Irish breakfast! The perfect opportunity to get a “Full Irish Breakfast” with thick bacon, sausage, egg, black pudding, white pudding, mushroom, potato patty, tomato, toasts, etc… So awesome! (perfect before a good day trip!)

dublin-ufunk-9

We discovered the central and lively Temple Bar district (partly for pedestrians), full of bars, restaurants, trendy cafes, pubs, but also trendy stores, designer shops, creators workshops and other lively places… What I love about this area is that many shops with a modern architecture inside kept the old facades of brick and stone of the old Dublin…

dublin-ufunk-10

dublin-ufunk-11

dublin-ufunk-12

Having a break, of course, is the good opportunity to taste one of the icons of Dublin, Guinness beer, founded in 1759! Guinness is everywhere here, and is also found in many products in tribute to this famous beer: Guinness flavored potato chips, Guinness flavored chocolates, etc..

dublin-ufunk-13

dublin-ufunk-14

dublin-ufunk-16

And for those who have skipped the “Full Irish Breakfast” in the morning, know that it is possible to find it as a sandwich to save time! Yes, this is thick bacon, sausage, black pudding, white pudding and tomato sauce in bread!

dublin-ufunk-15

We also visited “The Little Museum of Dublin“, an improbable small museum established thanks to donations from people of Dublin, where a guide with a great humor told us the history of the city through small details, objects, letters, pictures… A great time!

dublin-ufunk-17

dublin-ufunk-18

dublin-ufunk-19

One of my favorite places in Dublin has been “The Bernard Shaw“, which behind a historic façade from 1895 hides a great alternative place mixing bar, art, graffiti and music, but also a quirky and funny pizzeria housed in an old double-decker bus! A must see!

dublin-ufunk-20

dublin-ufunk-21

dublin-ufunk-22

dublin-ufunk-23

Returning to the Temple Bar area, we also crossed the very cute “Saint Stephen’s Green” park where local swans, gulls and ducks come frolic in the water and beg people for bread crumbs…

dublin-ufunk-24

dublin-ufunk-25

dublin-ufunk-26

But this trip was also an opportunity to discover the site of Newgrange, about 1 hour north of Dublin. An impressive archaeological site consisting of over 5,000 year old mounds! An unknown and yet as surprising as fascinating place! (read more about it: wikipedia)

dublin-ufunk-27

dublin-ufunk-28

dublin-ufunk-29

dublin-ufunk-30

dublin-ufunk-31

Back in town, this was an opportunity to enjoy a few beers and whisky (be careful, in Ireland, it’s Whiskey!) in the various pubs of Dublin, as beautiful as each other…

dublin-ufunk-32

dublin-ufunk-33

dublin-ufunk-34

For fans, the “Jasmine Bar” (the bar of Brooks Hotel) is a true reference for whisky and whiskey, with more than 140 references from Ireland, Scotland, but also from Sweden, Japan, etc. !

dublin-ufunk-35

But of course we were in Ireland for one thing, The Ultimate Gathering, a very special celebration of the New Year! After a nice casual encounter with the Lord Mayor of Dublin around a few glasses of mulled wine, we participated at the forefront to the “People’s Procession of Light“, a bright and friendly stroll through the city! A real special time of sharing with the people of Dublin!

dublin-ufunk-36

dublin-ufunk-37

dublin-ufunk-38

This “People’s Procession of Light” ended with a surprising and impressive air show!

dublin-ufunk-39

One of the highlights of the evening was also the concert of the “3 NYE Dublin“, with among others the famous ska band Madness to warm everyone and celebrate the 12 strokes of midnight! A moment of anthology highlighted by an excellent 3D projection and fireworks! In short, the big show!

dublin-ufunk-40

dublin-ufunk-41

And after a night of fun, what better way to wake up than tasting one of the best Fish & Chips in Dublin: Leo Burdock! And we were not disappointed, a great place to lunch during a walk into Temple Bar district!

dublin-ufunk-42

dublin-ufunk-43

dublin-ufunk-44

dublin-ufunk-45

A short trip to Howth, a fishing village north of the city to take a look at the Irish Sea…

dublin-ufunk-46

dublin-ufunk-47

dublin-ufunk-48

We also took time to visit the Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA).

dublin-ufunk-49

dublin-ufunk-50

dublin-ufunk-51

This trip has been a great opportunity to explore Ireland and Dublin, through the most diverse experiences! You already had understood: we loved it! The people we met were lovely and we really felt this festive spirit that united people around a very large celebration. A real magical moment! I would also like to send a huge thank you to Grégoire, Huda, Anne but also Antoinette and Siobhan for these great moments…

Don't miss any news from UFUNK!

Subscribe to the newsletter and receive directly UFUNK news by email!

Carnet de voyage : Découverte de Dublin et de l’Irlande !

06/01/2014 // voyage

Cette année pour le nouvel an, nous avons eu l’honneur d’être invités par l’Irlande pour fêter les derniers jours de « The Gathering Ireland 2013« , une initiative imaginée pour promouvoir le tourisme en Irlande, mais aussi pour célébrer la culture irlandaise et son héritage à travers le monde. Avec plus de 5000 évènements durant toute l’année 2013, The Gathering Ireland 2013 s’est achevé avec The Ultimate Gathering, une célébration spéciale du Nouvel An à Dublin ! Une excellente occasion pour nous de découvrir l’Irlande et surtout la ville de Dublin ! Petit résumé de ces quelques jours au pays des leprechauns… (ne manquez pas également : Dublin Street Art – Sélection de street art dans les rues de Dublin)

dublin-ufunk-1

Cette petite aventure à Dublin nous à déjà permis de découvrir beaucoup d’aspects de l’Irlande, mais surtout de découvrir une ville à l’image du bar « The Bernard Shaw« , très encrée dans la culture traditionnelle irlandaise et les coutumes, mais également une ville moderne, dynamique, trendy, avec une vraie culture actuelle et alternative.

dublin-ufunk-2

Bien sûr quand on pense à l’Irlande, on pense directement à la St Patrick, à la bière, et donc aux Pubs. Notre premier pub à Dublin aura donc été le « O’Neill’s« , un bar / restaurant à l’ambiance chaleureuse et typique, avec plusieurs salles sur deux étages, une décoration plutôt sombre et chargée et un championnat de flechette sur les écrans… Rien à dire, nous sommes bien en Irlande !

dublin-ufunk-6

dublin-ufunk-7

Nous avions une chambre réservée au superbe « Brooks Hotel« , en plein centre ville. L’occasion de se retrouver pour la première fois face à un « Pillow Menu« , un menu des différents types d’oreiller disponibles, afin de choisir celui qui nous convient le mieux !

dublin-ufunk-8

Et qui dit nuit en Irlande, dit petit déjeuner irlandais ! L’occasion parfaite de s’offrir un « Full Irish Breakfast« , avec bacon épais, saucisse, oeuf, black pudding, white pudding, champignon, galette de pomme de terre, tomate, toasts, etc… Un vrai régal ! (de quoi affronter une bonne journée de balade !)

dublin-ufunk-9

Nous avons ainsi découvert le quartier central et très vivant de Temple Bar (en partie piéton), qui regorge de bars, de restaurants, de cafés à la mode, de pubs, mais aussi de boutiques trendy, de magasins de design, d’ateliers de créateurs et autres lieux de vie… Ce que j’aime beaucoup dans ce quartier, c’est que de nombreux magasins à l’architecture très moderne à l’intérieur ont gardé en apparence les vieilles façades de brique et de pierre du Dublin d’autrefois…

dublin-ufunk-10

dublin-ufunk-11

dublin-ufunk-12

Faire une pause, c’est bien sûr l’occasion de déguster une des icônes de Dublin, la bière Guinness, fondée en 1759 ! La Guinness est partout, et on retrouve d’ailleurs dans la ville de nombreux produits dérivés à la gloire de cette célèbre bière : chips à la Guinness, chocolats à la Guinness, etc.

dublin-ufunk-13

dublin-ufunk-14

dublin-ufunk-16

Et pour ceux qui auraient sauté le « Full Irish Breakfast » du matin, sachez qu’il est aussi possible de le trouver en sandwich pour gagner du temps ! Oui, c’est bien du bacon épais, de la saucisse, du black pudding, du white pudding et de la sauce tomate dans du pain !

dublin-ufunk-15

Nous avons également pu visiter « The Little Museum of Dublin« , un petit musée improbable constitué par les donations des habitants de Dublin, où un guide à l’humour certain nous a raconté l’histoire de la ville à travers de petits détails, des objets, des lettres, des photos… Un très bon moment !

dublin-ufunk-17

dublin-ufunk-18

dublin-ufunk-19

Un de mes lieux favoris à Dublin aura été « The Bernard Shaw« , qui derrière une façade ancienne de 1895 cache un excellent lieu alternatif mélangeant bar, art, graffiti et musique, mais aussi une improbable pizzeria installée dans un vieux bus à deux étages ! A voir absolument !

dublin-ufunk-20

dublin-ufunk-21

dublin-ufunk-22

dublin-ufunk-23

En retournant vers Temple Bar, notre quartier de prédilection, nous avons également traversé le très mignon parc de « Saint Stephen’s Green« , où cygnes, mouettes et canards locaux viennent batifoler dans l’eau et quémander quelques miettes aux passants…

dublin-ufunk-24

dublin-ufunk-25

dublin-ufunk-26

Mais ce voyage aura aussi été l’occasion de découvrir le site de Newgrange, à environ 1h au nord de Dublin. Un impressionnant site archéologique constitué de tumulus de plus de 5000 ans ! Un site méconnu et pourtant aussi étonnant qu’impressionnant ! (pour en savoir plus : wikipedia)

dublin-ufunk-27

dublin-ufunk-28

dublin-ufunk-29

dublin-ufunk-30

dublin-ufunk-31

De retour en ville, c’était bien sûr l’occasion de déguster quelques bières et whisky (attention, en Irlande, on dit Whiskey !) dans les différents pubs de Dublin, tous aussi beaux les uns que les autres…

dublin-ufunk-32

dublin-ufunk-33

dublin-ufunk-34

Pour les amateurs, le « Jasmine Bar » (le bar du Brooks Hotel) est un vraie référence pour le whisky et le whiskey, avec plus de 140 références en provenance d’Irlande, d’Ecosse mais aussi de Suède, du Japon, etc. !

dublin-ufunk-35

Mais bien sûr, nous étions en Irlande pour une chose : The Ultimate Gathering, une célébration très spéciale du jour de l’an ! Après une sympathique rencontre décontractée avec le maire de Dublin autour de quelques verres de vin chaud, nous avons participé aux premières loges à la « People’s Procession of Light« , une déambulation lumineuse et conviviale à travers la ville ! Un vrai moment privilégié de partage avec les habitants de Dublin !

dublin-ufunk-36

dublin-ufunk-37

dublin-ufunk-38

Cette « People’s Procession of Light » s’est achevée par un étonnant et impressionnant spectacle aérien !

dublin-ufunk-39

Un des points forts de cette soirée aura également été le concert du « 3 NYE Dublin« , avec entre autre le célèbre groupe de ska Madness pour réchauffer tout le monde et célébrer les 12 coups de minuit ! Un moment d’anthologie souligné par une excellente projection 3D et des feux d’artifice ! Bref, le grand jeu !

dublin-ufunk-40

dublin-ufunk-41

Et après une nuit de folies, quoi de mieux pour se remettre en forme que de gouter l’un des meilleurs Fish & Chips de Dublin : Leo Burdock ! Et on a pas été déçu, un must lors d’une balade à Temple Bar !

dublin-ufunk-42

dublin-ufunk-43

dublin-ufunk-44

dublin-ufunk-45

Petit passage à Howth, un village de pécheurs au nord de la ville pour jeter un coup d’oeil à la mer d’Irlande…

dublin-ufunk-46

dublin-ufunk-47

dublin-ufunk-48

Nous avons aussi pris le temps de visiter le Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA).

dublin-ufunk-49

dublin-ufunk-50

dublin-ufunk-51

Ce séjour aura donc été une excellente occasion de découvrir l’Irlande et Dublin, à travers les expériences les plus diverses ! Vous l’aurez compris : on a adoré ! Les gens rencontrés ont été adorables et on a vraiment senti cet esprit de fête qui unissait les habitants autour d’une célébration très forte. Un vrai moment magique ! J’en profite aussi pour adresser un immense merci à Grégoire, Huda, Anne mais aussi Antoinette et Siobhan pour ces très bons moments…

Ne ratez plus aucune news de UFUNK !

Inscrivez vous à la newsletter UFUNK et recevez directement les news par email !